Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Awards & Grants Committee


Chair: Mike Loomis , exp. 2015
Co-Chair: Scott Citino

The Awards Committee succession will be as follows:

Committee Member
Date to Rotate off the Committee
Scott Citino2014
Bill Lance2014
Mike Loomis2015
Dave Jessup2016
Dalen Agnew2017
Andy Teare2018 

The Nomination Committee has been added to this committee to streamline committee efforts.

Members in Action

The Emil Dolensek Award

The previous award winners are: James Foster (1991), Wilbur Amand (1993), Mitchell Bush (1994), Murray Fowler (1995), Billy Karesh (1997), Werner Heuschele (1998), Richard Montali (1999), Linda Munson (2001), Eric Miller (2002), Michael Stoskopf (2003), James Carpenter (2004), Elizabeth S. Williams and E. Thomas Thorne (2005), Mike Cranfield (2006), Scott Citino (2007), Mike Loomis (2008), Don Janssen (2009), David Jessup (2010), Elliott Jacobson (2011), Not Awarded (2012), Bonnie Raphael (2013) and Daniel Mulcahy (2014).

The current selection philosophy for the award is: "The Emil Dolensek Award is an honor presented to a past or present member of the AAZV in appreciation for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife reflecting Emil Dolensek's commitment to these purposes. Emil was in the prime of his life and his career, and this award recognizes similar individuals that have advanced the profession and served to link the related disciplines of zoo and wildlife medicine."

The recipient of the award is announced at the annual banquet. The recipient receives a $1,000 cash award.

The Duane Ullrey Award

The previous winners are Duane Ullrey (1999), Ulyses S. Seal (2001), Sue Crissey (2002), William Lance (2003), JoGayle Howard (2004), Oliver A. Ryder (2005), Bill Lasley (2006), David Wildt (2007), Linda Lowenstein (2008), Not Awarded 2009, 2010, 2011), Mike Garner (2012), J. Andrew Teare (2013) and not awarded (2014).

The current selection philosophy for this award is: "The Duane Ullrey Award is an honor presented in appreciation for exceptional achievements in the science of wild animal health and for support of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians. The recipients will be non-veterinarians or non-clinical researchers who have used sound scientific principles to achieve significant benefits to wildlife and reflecting the commitment of Duane Ullrey to these purposes. Long-term membership in AAZV is desirable."

The recipient of the award is announced at the annual banquet. The recipient receives a plaque.

Lifetime Achievement Award:

The AAZV Life Time Achievement Award is made to honor a lifetime of contributions to the discipline of Zoological Medicine by a current or former member of the AAZV. Awardees must have been a positive force in the development of the discipline through their political, technical, scientific, teaching/mentoring, educational, and/or service contributions that together represent a career long pattern of excellence and inspiration.

This year there were 2 awards given: Marty Dennes and Murray Fowler

Presidential Awards 2014:

Each year at Annual Conference recipients are recognized for outstanding achievements within the association and/or within the animal medicine. We recognized the following individuals.

  1. Julie Napier -  For representing AAZV on the AVMA Animal Welfare Committee as well as supporting AAZV in many other roles
  2. David Miller -  For working quietly in multiple roles representing AAZV with the AVMA
  3. Peregrine Wolff - For representing AAZV on the USAHA Committee on Captive Wildlife and Alternative Livestock 
  4. Yvonne Nadler - For her service with the Disaster Preparedness Committee
  5. Scott Terrell - For working hard to bring a great conference together
  6. Michael Adkesson - For extraordinary effort in the advancement of the Scientific Program Committee
  7. Lewis Wright - For his service with the Information Resources Committee
  8. Kathryn Gamble - For her service with the Infectious Disease Committee
  9. Deidre Fontenot - For working hard to bring a fabulous conference together on Disney's properties
  10. Deena Brenner - For pulling together an outstanding scientific program in 2014
  11. Anneke Moresco - For being the first AAZV Development Committee Chairperson
  12. Curtis Eng - For his service with the Public Relations Committee

Animal Necessity Inc. Student Manuscript Competition 2014:


1st Place: Emma Houck - Evaluation of thermal antinociceptive effects of buprenorphine hydrochloride in cockatiels (Nymphicus hollandicus)

2nd Place: Lauren Kane - Successful treatment of mandibular ostemyelitis in two red-necked wallabies (Macropus rufogriseus) using long-term pharmaceutical therapy and serial monitoring by computed tomography imaging



Safe-Capture Poster Awards 2014:

1st Place: James Johnson - Hypercalcemia and metastatic mineralization associated with renal disease in rock hyraxes (Procavia capensis)

2nd Place: John Flanders - Equine herpesvirus in polar bears (Ursus maritimus) and exotic equids housed in US AZA institutions


Morris Animal Foundation Post Graduate Manuscript 2014:

1st Place: Sarah Cannizzo - Evaluation of in-house urine dipstick, reference laboratory urinalysis, and urine protein: creatinine ratio from a colony of gold's monkeys (Callimico goeldii)

2nd Place: Jessica Emerson - Evaluation of a novel technique as an indicator of immunogobulin passive transfer in six species of non-domestic ruminant


Linda Munson Pathology Manuscript Award 2014:

Sophie Regnault -  Osteopathology in the feet of rhinoceroses: Lesion type and distribution

Member Information Section

Click HERE for Committee reports, contact information and committee structure

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal