Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
AAZV Grant and Award Information

Each year AAZV recognizes outstanding veterinary medicine practice and research for captive and free-ranging wildlife.

AAZV aims to enhance the association's role and capacity in conservation by establishing a clearing house for such grant proposals and promoting individual achievements. The animal health studies are in the form of grant proposals, manuscript publications and poster presentations. AAZV bestows individuals on their animal health projects and  conservation topics through The Wild Animal Health Fund and at Annual Conference.

AAZV Zoological Medicine and Wildlife Health Research Grant

AAZV grants funding to the most innovative and promising research focused on animal health. We aim to promote and facilitate high quality evidence based outcome research in wildlife animals. For over 60 years, AAZV has played a role in nearly every wildlife medicine breakthrough to prevent diseases, enhance treatments and provide solutions. By establishing, promoting and administering The Wild Animal Health Fund, we are expanding our reputation to be the premier contributor of knowledge on zoo animals and wildlife.


See the new 2014 AAZV Zoological Medicine and Wildlife Health Research Grant projects.

The call for applications is OPEN. Click HERE for details and application.

Annual Conference Awards and Recognitions:

  • AAZV International Conference Scholarship: Each year AAZV enables practicing veterinarians from developing countries who specialize in the health and welfare of wild and exotic animals to attend our Annual Conference. Veterinary professionals from developing countries have limited access to attend continuing education courses and awarded attendees carry home a wealth of knowledge gained to share with their local colleagues. AAZV is proud to promote building incountry veterinary capacity to handle wildlife medical needs. We believe this amplifies the efforts of successfully reaching world areas that tend to the sustainability of threatened and endangered animals. With your annual giving contributions, we will increase these opportunities for developing country veterinarians. Click HERE for this year's recipients, more details and application information.

    AAZV International Committee - Zoo and Wildlife Pathology Workshop Scholarship:
    Click HERE for details and the submission form.  Usually due by August.

  • Emil Dolensek Award: The current selection philosophy for the award is: "The Emil Dolensek Award is an honor presented to a past or present member of the AAZV in appreciation for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife reflecting Emil Dolensek's commitment to these purposes. Emil was in the prime of his life and his career, and this award recognizes similar individuals that have advanced the profession and served to link the related disciplines of zoo and wildlife medicine."

    The previous award winners are: James Foster (1991), Wilbur Amand (1993), Mitchell Bush (1994), Murray Fowler (1995), Billy Karesh (1997), Werner Heuschele (1998), Richard Montali (1999), Linda Munson (2001), Eric Miller (2002), Michael Stoskopf (2003), James Carpenter (2004), Elizabeth S. Williams and E. Thomas Thorne (2005), Mike Cranfield (2006), Scott Citino (2007), Mike Loomis (2008), Don Janssen (2009), David Jessup (2010), Elliott Jacobson (2011), Not Awarded (2012) and Bonnie Raphael (2013).

  • Duane Ullrey Award: The current selection philosophy for this award is: "The Duane Ullrey Award is an honor presented in appreciation for exceptional achievements in the science of wild animal health and for support of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians. The recipients will be non-veterinarians or non-clinical researchers who have used sound scientific principles to achieve significant benefits to wildlife and reflecting the commitment of Duane Ullrey to these purposes. Long-term membership in AAZV is desirable."

    The previous winners are Duane Ullrey (1999), Ulyses S. Seal (2001), Sue Crissey (2002), William Lance (2003), JoGayle Howard (2004), Oliver A. Ryder (2005), Bill Lasley (2006), David Wildt (2007), Linda Lowenstein (2008), and (Not Awarded 2009, 2010, 2011), Mike Garner (2012) and J Andrew Teare (2013).

  • AAZV Post-Graduate and Veterinary Student Competitions: click here for details.

    Animal Necessity Inc. Recipients: (List of 2013 winners and manuscript titles)

    The WIldlife Pharmaceuticals Recipients: (List of past winners and manuscript titles)

    Morris Animal Foundation Recipients: (List of past winners and manuscript titles)

  • Safe-Capture International, Inc. Poster Awards: See details at Safe-Capture, Inc. Poster Awards
    (List of past winners and manuscript titles)

  • Linda Munson Pathology Award:
    The current selection philosophy for this award is: The best zoo or wildlife pathological manuscript published each year by a graduate student or resident in either the Journal of Wildlife Diseases or the Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine.  (List of recipients)

Presidential Awards 2013:
Each year at Annual Conference recipients are recognized for outstanding achievements within the association and/or within the animal medicine. We recognized the following individuals. 
  1. Kay Backues – for so ably serving elephants and the AAZV through representing us on the Management and Research Priorities of Tuberculosis for Elephants in Human Care Stakeholders Task Force
  2. Tom Curro - for the many years of selfless service as the AAZV webmaster
  3. Tom deMaar – for coordinating the Pfizer and Zoetis pharmaceutical product distribution for AZA members
  4. Donna Ialeggio – for serving the AAZV by continuously reviewing Federal documents to identify those relevant to our profession
  5. Nadine Lamberski, Mike Adkesson, and Jessica Siegal–Willott – for establishing a standard of excellence for the AAZV’s Scientific Program Committee
  6. Tom Meehan – for the many years of AAZV service serving as our official liaison with so many organizations and government agencies
  7. Kurt Sladky – for the years of AAZV service as our representative to the AVMA Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee

Resources for other zoo and wildlife veterinarian awards

Oiled Wildlife Care Network Grant

The International Elephant Foundation Conservation and Research Funding

Oxbow Exotic Mammal Health Award

OKC Zoo Conservation Action Now (CAN) Small Grant Program
Guidelines and application instructions can be found at conservation/can-grant- program/

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal