Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join Today

Dear Colleagues,


The AAZV Awards Committee is seeking nominees for the Dolensek and Ullrey Awards for 2011.  All nominations should be sent to Scott Citino ( by August 1, 2011.  Nominations should include a nominating letter and curriculum vitae of the nominee.  These are awards from the entire membership of AAZV and the committee depends on nominations from the membership for the awards to be given.  If no nominations come in, then the awards are not given.


As a reminder, the following are brief descriptions of these awards:


1. The Emil Dolensek Award:

The selection philosophy for this award is: "The Emil Dolensek Award is an honor presented to a past or present member of the AAZV in appreciation for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife reflecting Emil Dolensek's commitment to these purposes. Emil was in the prime of his life and his career, and this award recognizes similar individuals that have advanced the profession and served to link the related disciplines of zoo and wildlife medicine."


    Previous award winners are: James Foster (1991), Wilbur Amand (1993), Mitchell Bush (1994), Murray Fowler (1995), Billy Karesh (1997), Werner Heuschele (1998), Richard Montali (1999), Linda Munson (2001), Eric Miller (2002), Michael Stoskopt (2003), James Carpenter (2004), Elizabeth S. Williams and E. Thomas Thorn (2005), Mike Cranfield (2006), Scott Citino (2007), Mike Loomis (2008), Don Janssen (2009), and David Jessup (2010.


2. The Duane Ullrey Award:


The selection philosophy for this award is: "The Duane Ullrey Award is an honor presented in appreciation for exceptional achievements in the science of wild animal health and for support of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians. The recipients will be non-veterinarians or non-clinical researchers who have used sound scientific principles to achieve significant benefits to wildlife and reflecting the commitment of Duane Ullrey to these purposes.  Long-term membership in AAZV is desirable."


   Previous winners are Duane Ullrey (1999), Ulyses S. Seal (2001), Sue Crissey (2002), William Lance (2003), JoGayle Howard (2004), Oliver A. Ryder (2005), Bill Lasley (2006), David Wildt (2007), and Linda Lowenstein (2008) (Not awarded in 2009 and 2010).


Thank you for your attention. 



Scott B. Citino, D.V.M., Dipl. ACZM

White Oak Conservation Center

581705 White Oak Road

Yulee, Florida 32097

Phone:  904-225-3387

Fax:  904-225-3337


581705 White Oak Road
Yulee, FL 32097 USA

Contact Us

Local: (904) 225-3275
Fax: (904) 225-3289

Connect With Us