Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join Today
Awards & Grants Committee

Chair: Kirsten Gilardi
Vice-Chair: Bonnie Raphael

The Nomination Committee has been added to this committee to streamline committee efforts.

Award Information

The Emil Dolensek Award

The current selection philosophy for the award is: "The Emil Dolensek Award is an honor presented to a past or present member of the AAZV in appreciation for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife reflecting Emil Dolensek's commitment to these purposes. Emil was in the prime of his life and his career, and this award recognizes similar individuals that have advanced the profession and served to link the related disciplines of zoo and wildlife medicine."

The recipient of the award is announced at the annual banquet. The recipient receives a $1,000 cash award.

Previous Dolensek Award winners.

The Duane Ullrey Award

The current selection philosophy for this award is: "The Duane Ullrey Award is an honor presented in appreciation for exceptional achievements in the science of wild animal health and for support of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians. The recipients will be non-veterinarians or non-clinical researchers who have used sound scientific principles to achieve significant benefits to wildlife and reflecting the commitment of Duane Ullrey to these purposes. Long-term membership in AAZV is desirable."

The recipient of the award is announced at the annual banquet. The recipient receives a plaque.

Previous Ullrey Award winners.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The AAZV Life Time Achievement Award is made to honor a lifetime of contributions to the discipline of Zoological Medicine by a current or former member of the AAZV. Awardees must have been a positive force in the development of the discipline through their political, technical, scientific, teaching/mentoring, educational, and/or service contributions that together represent a career long pattern of excellence and inspiration. Nominations for this award are being accepted.  See the committee report's section for details.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award winners. 

Presidential Awards

Each year at Annual Conference recipients are recognized for outstanding achievements within the association and/or within the animal medicine. Send nominations to the AAZV President. We recognized the following individuals:

Previous Presidential Award winners.


Member Information Section

Click HERE for Committee reports, contact information and committee structure



581705 White Oak Road
Yulee, FL 32097 USA

Contact Us

Local: (904) 225-3275
Fax: (904) 225-3289

Connect With Us